A World All My Own

A World All My Own

By: ImageJocelyn M.

For my collage projects I chose to draw myself and then add all my favorite things that reminded me of home and myself. But it’s a lot more complicated than it sounds. SO I chose to draw myself instead of just getting a picture of me because when I draw, it expresses me in a whole different way. I knew that I should try to do something that no one else would try and do, like take the time to draw themselves in a very creative and original way. I wanted to show that I love to draw and create art, one the many things that I do like to do. I wanted to show that there are many different qualities or ways to look at me. SO I like to show that through my work. Show that I am independent and think outside of the same boring, gray box. I used what I had learned from my Manga drawing classes and showed it off in this project. And I think that it turned out nicely.

 

Then with the other pictures I was not able to find any of the things that I liked in books and stuff, so I decided to go online and search for the things that I think describe me. Like the state motto. The state motto is a special saying that the state is well known for. Like “Don’t mess with Texas”. Virginia’s motto is, “Virginia is for lovers”, but it does sound pretty lame. Then a found some neat photos of Luray caverns, and underground cave that is very deep and very large, and it is filled with mineral and stalagmites and stalactites. And of one of the nebulas in space. That describes that I am really a big fan of science. And then there where pictures of the Church, Harvest life changers church. That was a very good church; they did a lot of work in Africa to build churches, schools, and houses. They loved God with all their hearts, and so do I.  Then there where some pictures of ice cream, bunnies, and puppies. That was to show people that I loved all the cute and sweet things in life. Even though it seems like the world only has little of that.   I had a little sample of my favorite book writers. Like Rahul Dahl, J.K Rowling, and R.L Stine. Yes they may sound childish but whenever I read their books it reminds me of the comfort and excitement of being a kid again.   

 

And then I had about a million pictures on my favorite music writers. I think that having a wide variety of music, hip-hop, rock, heavy metal, gospel, R&B, pop, classical, all those music types can give you a better and broader understanding of the world around us. So if I have many music types then I can understand lots of people and their different qualities better. And besides that, I love music with all my heart. My favorite musicians are David Guetta, Michael Jackson, Evanescence, the Piano Guys, Selena Gomez, Willow Smith, and so many more.

 

Now, on with how I did with the understanding of the principles in art and the elements of art, I think that I did a very good job on exploiting both of them in a balanced and organized way. With one of the descriptions of the Principles of design, I think I used emphasis so that my picture of me would stand out more and people would focus more on that then the other pic. And with my other pictures I used a wide variety of the things that I thought that could describe me. Then for describing the Elements of art, I used a lot of that in my drawing. Like color., I used lots of color to depict what I was trying to state in my collage. Like my bright greens, yellows, and blues in my photos. And the darker colors in my drawing, to describe the brightness in everything I do. And the color in my eyes, I wanted it to look spacy, so then it looks like I am dreaming. Then texture, my drawing looked smooth, and a little bit soft, but still bold so people will notice it.  Then my lines, to put extra emphasis on the boldness and feeling in my drawing. So over all in my drawing. I did a very good job, at understanding the different values of art and describing myself in a fun a creative way. 

Leave a comment